HOW I GOT INITIATED IN THE BEER DRINKING BUSINESS

A wreath Kolsch Beer - LA Times of Kölsch.

Image via Wikipedia

We all know that bar and church business is the most lucrative in this country, even an average  amateur market researcher will tell you that, people even in the villages have ambushed the beer business and indeed making  a killing.[lets talk about church business later]but the trouble with a beer in the village bar is first there are transport issues and more worse if you ride in a second hand  jalopy like my big bro.As an urbanite in the village, you notice you are in trouble when your car breaks down and gets stuck at the same time in mud and the only spare part in the nearest spare parts shop at the nearest shopping center is a hammer.
But that has never stops me from partaking that drink even when in the village. The problem with taking beer in the village is that you are never easy and relaxed from the word go, first like i said in the other post,you are ushered in by a barmaid who is built like a bouncer who makes you feel intimidated n insecure consequently making your appetite n thirst to instantly take a flight or alternatively you are served beer with a dirty old woman-this can really tamper with your thirst especially if you are used to those barmaids in the city who serve you with near-popping-out mammary glands.
You know my big bro who couldn’t and I suspect still cant stand a thirsty teenager in a bar, introduced me to those frothy waters of ruaraka  at quite an early age, and I vividly remember his choice poison was and still is tusker kubwa baridi which I too still use to commit that slow suicide to date. Personally alcohol was my no.1 enemy but after vigorously interacting with the content of the holy book-the bible, and noticed it recommends that you love your enemy I made a big about –turn and never looked back ,so don’t question my fascination for the brown bottle and its frothy content.it sall love.
But what alcohol will do to me I suspect still wears a napkin or is hiding under a cap…I mean the other day I was under the influence n enthusiastically punched my bank account pin no. In the microwave n I of course expected cash to come out-how do you explain that? When being initiated I remember bro insisting that for that poison to be enjoyable it has to be served straight from the fridge while the bottle is still sweating, amid some loud music, two or three guys yelling at each other or fighting at the corner n exchanging obscenities and calling each other `names’ not a place like `the stanley ‘ where i was last weekend with a  certain research company[but big up you guys for inviting me] where every bugger was treated with lots of respect and called sir.even the usual genital-men like myself being called gentlemen shiet it was crazy, And no body was issuing threats no one is flirting with the barmaids, no one is urinating in his pants, I mean the place was dead boring.i think am used to this dingy and seedy places,i mean there is alot of `acting’ uptown Nairobi particularly in those top of the range facilities like Hilton,Serena and fair view hotel[where another group i have worked with invited me for dinner last friday] these places don’t match the ambiance of that very pub my big bro`admitted at,on the very first day got initiated in this.
these five star hotels are interesting their  barmaids loiter around fully equipped  with alcoblows in their hands and they become nervous when you request to be served a fourth beer[ i was shocked ] i suspect they believe a gentleman rarely touches his 3rd beer. And i also saw some `things’  fitted on their chairs which resembled seat belts may be as asafety measure to  avoid toppling over and any sporadic fights from potentially violent  patrons who are tipsy ,i dont know.am always nagged to go to these places….

About muhoto

A social-psychology scholar with a literature background, a social commentator, and a writer(creative, with a bias for humour) Passionate about writing and in this blog I attempt to come up with painstaking analysis, commentary, critique and thought provoking articles of which some are likely to become recognized as classics in their own right. Most of the articles are on popular but illusive themes and other aspects of society, others explore the most important contemporary ideas and of course burning issues of the day in the relationships of men and women for educational purposes, social well-being and higher knowledge…or just food for thought. I decided not to take a business-as-usual- approach to keep you the reader pensive but please don’t mistake my being assertive, my free-thinking ,as I keep it real and speak my mind for being a sexist or a chauvinist or better yet immoral am just keeping this dear society in check. Welcome to my world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to HOW I GOT INITIATED IN THE BEER DRINKING BUSINESS

  1. Gerry says:

    Creativity at its best. I don’t particularly share the same opinions with u in some aspects of your blogs (as u already know!) but i cant seem to stop reading them, gud stuff dude!

Leave a comment